Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Have You Ever Felt Adrift?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on August 9, 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Last week, I spent an amazing week at Lake Greenwood in South Carolina with my step-mom, Suzy, and her family. Every year the days at the lake take on a familiar pattern. We wake up, eat, take a walk down the road to visit the donkeys that reside in a pasture nearby, spend time in the lake, eat lunch, more lake time, eat dinner, and play cards or a board game late into the night.

IMG_2587

It’s a calm, unplugged week with poor cell reception and two television stations. If we need to make a call or want to go online, we usually have to stand on the end of the dock or walk out to the road.

While on the water each day, we boat, tube, ski, jet ski, swim, and float. Mark and Colton spend many hours fishing, which rewards us with a delicious fish fry dinner. Of all the time on the water, I have to admit I love to laze on a raft most of all. The speed of the jet ski, excitement of the tube, and freedom of boat rides are glorious, but basking in the sun while bobbing in the water makes me content and happy. Usually I close my eyes, listen to the kids play, feel the water ripple around me, and chat with whoever is floating alongside.

IMG_2735

On Thursday, the breeze tried to ruin our raft time. We ended up floating to the neighbor’s dock and paddling back numerous times. Although I could use the exercise to combat the many meals we consumed, it wasn’t our normal relaxing float. The old quote says, “Necessity is the mother of invention.” In this case, laziness gave birth to inspiration. Digging a ski rope from the boat, I hooked the handle around a dock piling and looped the other end around my ankle once I dragged myself back onto my raft. Suzy and her sister Kit paddled up, grasped the neighboring float, and created a raft convoy.  Once again, we were able to enjoy our raft time without drifting away.

IMG_2763

Suzy commented that our spiritual life resembles our raft experience. We held on to each other and also tethered ourselves to a stable structure. As Christians, we must stay connected to one another while tethering ourselves to Jesus to keep us in the right place. Without Him we become adrift, never really knowing where we will end up, and once we are lost, we struggle mightily to return to the path He has planned for us.

Are you adrift? Are you floating slowly in the wrong direction, seemingly unable to change your course? Tether yourself to Jesus and connect with other believers. Your spiritual life will be transformed. It could even feel like a peaceful, contented day at the lake!

4 Responses to 'Have You Ever Felt Adrift?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Have You Ever Felt Adrift?'.

  1. Tracy Robertson said,

    Linden, you have a gift for writing. I love your posts.


    • Thank you so much. You have no idea how much I needed to hear that. I’m kind of “adrift” in my writing life right now so your comment is very encouraging!

  2. Kit Adkins said,

    What a touching summary of our lake week! I’m convinced that sticking with Jesus and His followers is the only way to keep from drifting from the right path. It’s friends such as you who inspire me and help keep me tethered to what’s truly important.


    • Oh, Kit, YOU are the one who is so inspiring. Bless you for all you do for others, including us during our amazing lake week every year. I love you!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 593 other followers

