Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Welcome!

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on March 2, 2012

As an 8th grade English teacher, the process of writing down thoughts, ideas, and situations is a daily event. Blogging is cathartic, and I enjoy letting my musings flow so easily into a public forum.

Recently I read a news story about the separation of church and state.  It prompted me to think about the difference between “church” and “Church” because I find it hard to believe God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit follow that law. I am a member of the Church, capital C, of God. I am his child; therefore, where I am, He is. Because of this, when I am present in my classroom, He is present as well. The law may state the church has no place in my classroom, but the Church does because I am there.

I don’t teach religion or Christianity in my classroom. I teach English, but I can’t do it by myself. God’s presence is necessary, and He’s the reason for any successes my students experience from my instruction.

I begin each school year with subtle hints about my spiritual beliefs. I assure my homeroom kids they WILL be silent during the moment of silence. Whether they believe in praying or not, I insist they respect those of us who do. That is my first mention, but I take advantage of other opportunities to quietly battle against the separation of church and state.

Leave a Reply

