Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


“Me Do It Myself”

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on March 22, 2012

When I was very young, I apparently slammed the bathroom door in my mom’s face and said the words, “Me do it myself” during potty training. During my teen years, I continued to fight and paid the consequences for thinking I didn’t need anyone’s assistance. I fought for my personal liberty and was willing to do whatever it took to get it. Thankfully, I have matured, and I acknowledge (and even embrace) my weaknesses and seek people who can help me overcome them or compliment them with their strengths.

When asked what they want more than anything in life, many of my 8th grade students answer independence. They believe growing older and breaking free from parents, teachers, older siblings, or any other authority figure is the ultimate goal. I spend quite a lot of time trying to get them to believe interdependence, not independence, should be their goal. We brainstorm careers where individuals can succeed without depending on anyone else (very few, if any, exist). We discuss families and how members of a successful family must depend on the other members. And we discuss their education and why they can’t succeed all alone in school. Hopefully, some of them grasp the significance of the discussions and try to adjust their thinking a little.

The main reason I teach my students the difference between independence and interdependence is because I know I can’t succeed in life without being dependent on God. I try really hard to help His kingdom grow, but I frequently fail. My students would say “epic fail”. God offers me opportunities where I can make a difference, and I pray I have my eyes open to those opportunities when they arise. He provides strength where I am weak, even though I can’t do the same for him. That’s a pretty amazing example of interdependence.

Leave a Reply

