Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


It’s the journey, not the destination

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on April 2, 2012

I am not a runner. You know those little endorphins that are supposed to make you happy when you exercise? Well, I don’t think they exist in my body, or they’ve been dormant for so many years, they can no longer find their way to the surface. Don’t get me wrong…I exercise. I have a “dreadmill” that welcomes me whenever I decide to visit. I just don’t visit often enough nor do I stay long when I do.

Two years ago, a group of people in my school division participated in a 10K. We had some real race competitors, some who trained hard for the event, and others (like me) who just thought it would be a fun thing to do. (Sometimes I make no sense at all.) Many people brought family members along as well, so Autumn joined me. She ended up walking with a colleague who was moving at a faster pace than me. I happened to be walking with a friend who was 8 months pregnant, so records weren’t being broken.

Last year, Autumn and I went again. This time, Autumn and I did the whole thing together. She encouraged me and pushed me as we walked 2 hours to finish.

On Saturday, we did it again. I’ve actually been visiting my “dreadmill” more often lately, so I was hoping to finish in 1-1/2 hours. We jogged/walked the first half and were doing well, but then Autumn started getting blisters. By mile 5, she was limping. I told her we didn’t have to finish, but she wanted to push on. One hour and 44 minutes later, we crossed the finish line and made it into the medical tent. A very nice looking (Autumn would say “hot”) sports medicine volunteer checked out her toes and applied bandages. All was well in her world.

So how do I describe the event? A teen in my Sunday School class yesterday asked (with disbelief), “You ran a 10K?” No, I didn’t run a 10K. We walked and jogged. I didn’t compete in a 10K. We weren’t competing against the other people there. And I really don’t want to say I completed a 10K because that makes it all about the finish line. This tradition she and I have made our own is about the journey, not the destination. What we did along the way, talking, bonding, laughing – just being together – is what makes it a special thing. Finishing was great (I couldn’t go much farther!) but the trip itself made all the aches and pains worth it.

One Response to 'It’s the journey, not the destination'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'It’s the journey, not the destination'.

  1. lauramctx said,

    Sounds like you and I are the same kind of “runners” – I’m pretty sure I can walk faster than I run. And I’ve yet to feel that “runner’s high” that I’ve read about — maybe you have to go faster to generate those? But I get out there anyway, because I’m (mumblemumble) years old and I can gain weight just by thinking about food, and “running” seems to be the most efficient way to burn calories.

    Really enjoyed your blog post. I’ve added your blog to my RSS reader, so I’ll be dropping by again to read more!

    Laura
    http://bellewoodfarm.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

