Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


3 Ways God Uses Interruptions

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on April 11, 2012

Interruptions, disturbances, disruptions. Aren’t they stressful? Wouldn’t life be more pleasant if they didn’t exist? Life is busy enough without having to deal with them. My days are usually planned to the hilt, every minute accounted for, each family member’s schedule aligned (sort of) with the rest.

This week is spring break. After two GLORIOUS days at the beach, I’m back at full speed. One child dropped off at a friend’s for the day, the other has a friend over to play, church dinner tonight, baseball practice, and a lot of computer work to get done before then. I opened my email this morning to 279 new messages in the inbox. That’s what I get for taking two days off, right? But I had the whole day to get everything done. No problem.

So far, I’ve fought with an irritable internet connection so the inbox still houses over 200 new messages. I froze my keyboard with some random combination of keystrokes. I’ve mopped the dining room floor because juice spilled at lunch. I’ve stripped a child of juice-splattered clothing and started another load of laundry. And I’ve only checked two items off my to-do list. It’s one-o’clock in the afternoon. Geez.

Since I couldn’t get the internet to work, I started this, my next blog post. As I began typing, a phrase from a past Bible study came to mind. The “captivity of activity” controls much of my life. And it isn’t a good thing. I should be mindful of filling every minute of the day with activities which do not belong at the top of my priority list. Thankfully, God is mindful of this problem, and he teaches me by using interruptions.

1)      Slow down and enjoy life. God interrupts my busyness so I can reset my priorities and focus on what is really important in life. If I go to bed tonight and there are still hundreds of messages in my inbox, will it really make a difference? Only if I let it.

2)      It about His plan, not mine. I’m sure God’s plan for my life doesn’t hinge on whether my to-do list becomes shorter as the day goes on. He’s got a bigger plan for my life, and sometimes He has to interrupt my plan to make me realize I’ve forgotten to ask Him what I should be doing with my time. If I take time to listen, maybe He’ll tell me to ignore the flickering router light for the rest of the afternoon. I’ll let you know.

3)      I am abundantly blessed. Let’s face it; my life is full of blessings. I have very little to stress over. And when I do stress, it’s my choice to do so because God is always there waiting to take any of it I’m willing to hand over to Him. All I have to do is turn on the news to remember what an absolutely wonderful life I’m living. A little spilled juice? No sweat. A dysfunctional internet connection? Breathe and let it waver. An inbox of hundreds of messages? Click “delete all” and watch them disappear. Well, maybe not, but it sure is fun to dream!

4 Responses to '3 Ways God Uses Interruptions'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '3 Ways God Uses Interruptions'.


  1. Hi, Linden… I think we’re all wishing we could delete all these days. The course loop is no joke, is it? (LOL!) I just wanted to stop by to say “Hi.” Thanks for the encouraging article! Blessings!


  2. Oh my goodness, it is soooo overwhelming, but I’m learning a lot. I feel like I’m about a week behind. The whole twitter/hashtag thing has me scratching my head. I’m home all day tomorrow. One of my goals is going back through course emails to try to clear my brain a bit.
    Thanks for reading and commenting!


  3. Linden, thanks for this perspective. It’s like hitting the “reset” button!


    • You’re right on with that, and I need to hit that button often! Thanks for the comment and the follow. I appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

