Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Pleasant Surprises

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on April 19, 2012

 

Pleasant surprises…

A sometimes self-absorbed teen who says, “Thanks for dinner, Mama. It was great!”

A “slug” student (very intelligent but unmotivated and unconcerned) passes a test with flying colors. And shows enough pride to convince me he’ll try again.

A proposal presented to a usually contentious crowd of adults being approved unanimously.

Waking up my 8-year-old and hearing a muffled “I love you” from under the blankets.

Finding out someone who is a dedicated and caring volunteer will get paid for the position.

Opening my RSS feed to find one of my favorite blogs addressing an issue I’ve been trying to tackle.

A former student sends a message because she is proud of her current grade in English. Or better yet, just to say, “Hi. How are you doing?”

God confirming a heart-wrenching decision was the correct one.

Sometimes, it only takes one piece of news to make me want to give up. Today, I choose to dwell on the pleasant surprises instead.

What has pleasantly surprised you recently?

5 Responses to 'Pleasant Surprises'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Pleasant Surprises'.

  1. carriellewis said,

    Learning that a paid writing opportunity I thought was once a month is actually twice a month.


    • Awesome! Good for you!

      • carriellewis said,

        For sure! It’s been a challenge fitting two articles each month into my schedule, but this is my first paid writing job and I am so grateful for it.


  2. I’ve had that “finding a favourite blog addressing something that’s on my mind” happen twice this week. And today… one of those rare ones where everything happened in perfect sequence and went right. A very rare surprise and I’m thankful.


    • Sounds like you’re having a great week! Praying it continues for you. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.


Leave a Reply

