Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


I Just Don’t Feel Like It

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on April 23, 2012

Some days, I just don’t feel like doing what I’m supposed to do. Today is one of those days. My to-do list sits in front of me, but I haven’t crossed anything off it yet.

Write a blog. Well, here it is, all about my lack of motivation. Make a quiz for class on Wednesday. The study guides sit patiently on my desk. Critique a chapter for a friend. I copied it into my “crits to do” folder but haven’t opened the file yet.

It’s a good thing we’re reading in class today (Why The Hunger Games Should be Taught in School) because I don’t know if I’d be prepared for anything else. I didn’t sleep well last night, I’m loading up on caffeine, and my body is screaming, “Give me some fuel!” It’s going to be a long day.

My students are forgiving. If one notices my tired, baggy eyes and asks, I’ll tell them I’m exhausted. They usually give me a break. A few might try to take advantage or to annoy me because I’m not at my best, but for the most part they’re considerate.

Of course, that means I need to be the same. On a day when I’m pumped about our lesson, I have to realize not all fifty-plus students are also having a great day. Do I hound them to get with it? Do I ignore them and allow them to float through their day? Or do I make an effort to show I’m concerned and care about their situation? I have to admit sometimes I get frustrated and think to myself If he doesn’t focus, there’s no way he’ll pass the next test.

Maybe I spent half the night tossing and turning to get me to this reminder that everyone has a day now and then when they just don’t feel like it. I’m sure God is saying, “Hooray! She got it!” and smiling down on me like He always does. He’s probably also saying, “I wish she’d get it during daytime…I hate seeing my child so tired.” What a loving, caring God I serve.

So I’ll keep slogging through my day. At least I can cross “Write a blog” off my list.

How do you motivate yourself on days when you just don’t feel like it?

4 Responses to 'I Just Don’t Feel Like It'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I Just Don’t Feel Like It'.


  1. Thanks for the great reminder. I had a slog-through-it week last week, and it was tough! So much to do, and so little motivation. The deadlines for certain projects were the only things that made me press on. Paychecks and meetings with the boss can be pretty good motivators. 🙂

  2. Sharon Srock said,

    I have a full time job, and a home business, and I write. I rarely have a day free from at least one of these things. HAVE TO, people depending on me, a living to make. These are great motivators.

  3. BK Jackson said,

    WIsh I had a fool-proof answer! I’ve gotten better at getting after myself when I’m feeling unmotivated and the way I’ve accomplished that is changing my thinking to “low goals are better than no goals” and that’s how I go about my writing.

    But some days, you just can’t push through. Our lives are so crazy. This past weekend, I had to have a break from my dog (whom I love dearly) and took her to grandma’s (my code for the pet resort) so that I could have a couple days where I didn’t have to constantly be leashing her up and taking her out. It was wonderful.

    Sometimes you just need a break from the routine to refresh and remotivate.


  4. Thanks to all 3 of you! I appreciate your comments. Doesn’t it prove “misery loves company” when you feel better just knowing someone else feels the same as you? Praying you all have a motivated rest of the week. I feel much better today. I got a good night’s sleep, and I’m ready to face my students and my computer again.
    LB


Leave a Reply

