Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


This Sunday, Mum is the Word

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on May 10, 2012

On Sunday we’ll go to church then gather at my mother-in-law’s house for Mother’s Day dinner. But Mum won’t be there. I’m in Virginia, and my mom lives in Missouri. Too many miles separate us. While always pleasant, Mother’s Day hasn’t been perfect for years.

Mother’s Day provides an opportunity to give gifts, but nothing could repay my mom for everything she’s given me in my life. The list is endless, but here are a few of her gifts to me:

1.       Inspiration My mom is a cancer survivor. Her battle motivated me to take better care of myself and proved what I had always known…she’s a winner. My mom is the oldest of seven kids. For a while when I was young, she was a single mom with two daughters, working as a real estate agent, taking care of us. And some of her younger siblings lived with us too. My mom is kind and caring. When I find myself in tough situations, all I have to do is think about how she would handle it and I’m moved to do the right thing. My mom is my inspiration as I try to be the best mom I can be.

2.       Unconditional love While I was growing up, I did my fair share of rebelling, being self-centered, and not being thankful for all I had. But Mum loved me through it all. No matter what. What a great example of pure love she provides.

3.       Support and encouragement I’ve traveled a road with many twists, hills and valleys, and bumpy spots. My decisions – both bad and good – have led to the person I am today. Mum has gently encouraged and even pushed me along my way, supporting me though all my accomplishments and all my failures. She’s my own personal cheerleader. Even from long distance, I hear her voice louder than any other.

4.       Uncontrollable tears Some people wouldn’t see this as a gift. When we’re watching television and a particularly touching commercial comes on, Mark knows I’ll need a tissue. He rolls his eyes and hands one over. Reading books? The tears flow. Movies? Here they come. School plays, award ceremonies, or band performances? Watch out, the dam is breaking. But every time I’m unable to control the overflow, it reminds me I’m my mother’s daughter. And that makes me smile through my tears.

5.       The recipe for chocolate éclairs Mark loves chocolate éclairs. Actually, he yearns for them. For his birthday, there is no cake. He wants éclairs, and I’m not allowed to invite his family to celebrate with us because he refuses to share. Mum taught me the recipe when we made them for Fred while I was growing up. My sister and I were told we could each have one. Fred ate the rest. I do believe these particular cream-filled, chocolate-drenched delights might be evil since they breed such selfishness. Deliciously, decadently evil.

6.       An excellent example Mum focuses on other people all the time. Family, friends, neighbors, colleagues. All have been the recipient of a card, a visit, a tasty treat, or a bunch of her beloved flowers. I doubt my mom ever walks through a grocery or department store without an item triggering her desire to give. I pray someday to give as freely and selflessly as my mom does, but I’m not quite there yet.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mum. I love you. I miss you.
From your sunshine

One Response to 'This Sunday, Mum is the Word'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'This Sunday, Mum is the Word'.


  1. […] to spend some long overdue time with her. Last year, I wrote about what an incredible woman she is (This Sunday, Mum’s the Word), and every word still holds true […]


Leave a Reply

