Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Do You Have Too Many Ideas?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on May 14, 2012

Today, I know how my students feel when I tell them they need to brainstorm ideas for a writing assignment. Some of them wail, “I can’t decide what to write about!” I tell them to simply pick one and begin writing, but it’s not always easy.

I have worked on three different blog posts today. None of them seem “right” yet. If I had been given an assignment of what to write, I would start without having to make the choice of topic. That’s how most of my students prefer it. Give them a prompt, and they’ll churn out the required number of paragraphs or pages and call it a day.

But this blog isn’t an assignment. It’s my own views captured by keystrokes. But random thoughts disrupt my work today, so I’m going to purge them from my brain so I can concentrate.

1. My son reminds me of the silver ball inside of a pinball machine. Yesterday, he went from riding the lawn mower, to riding his bike, to driving a remote control car, to hitting golf balls, and then he started all over again. Ping. Ping. Ping.

2. Sometimes great people make very poor decisions, but that doesn’t have to change my view of them. They are still really great people.

3. When I frequently have the same thoughts and ideas as someone else, I feel like they are someone who can be relied upon.

4. Anticipating something good can help you through something tough. Just ask any teacher or student facing end-of-year testing while thinking about summer vacation. Or ask any Christian living life on earth while expecting Heaven for eternity.

5. Living far away from family might sound adventurous and exciting when you’re young. As you get older, it might turn out to be your biggest regret.

6. Being told what you have to do has the tendency to make you hate it even if you would’ve jumped at the chance had it been an offer instead of an order.

7. Do you capitalize Heaven and Hell? I don’t like giving hell that much importance.

8. When you don’t follow the rules, you rarely receive the rewards for doing so.

9. If your favorite thing to eat is something your grandma makes, learn the recipe from her.

10. When your brain won’t allow you to sleep, get up and write down your thoughts. The same process works when your brain won’t let you blog…

How do you focus your ideas?

3 Responses to 'Do You Have Too Many Ideas?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Do You Have Too Many Ideas?'.


  1. Haha! Great post, Linden! Many of these would make great tweets! 🙂


    • You’re right! Great idea! Thanks for reading and for the tip.


      • Edie and our Media classmates would be proud of us! 🙂


Leave a Reply

