Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Am I Finished Yet?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on May 24, 2012

Seth Godin’s latest blog post – his blog is one of my favorites – focuses on finishing. I like to finish things. My fingertips tingle when I place a check mark in the little box next to an item on my to-do list. I consider myself closure-oriented, but as I read his blog, I realized there aren’t many areas of my life where I actually finish.

As I near the end of the school year, the anticipation of being done floats through the halls and permeates our classrooms. Even though we are buckled down reviewing for our standardized tests, expectancy buoys us up. For the students, June 15th means they are finished. The school year is done, kaput, complete. For me? No, not quite. I’ll spend two weeks of my summer at conferences for school and quite a bit of time planning and organizing to prepare for next year. Even though teachers have the summer off, it doesn’t mean they aren’t working. I’m never finished.

Another area of my life where I don’t finish is writing. Being “done” with a manuscript, post, article, or any other piece of writing doesn’t often happen because I’m constantly re-reading, editing, and hopefully improving the words I’ve chosen. Even after I’ve shared my words, I still obsess over them. I’m probably looking over this post as you read it, wondering if I can tweak it without anyone noticing. No, my writing never seems to be complete.

One thing I try – really, really try – to finish is laundry. I have so many friends who say their laundry is never-ending. How depressing. On the weekends, I attempt to empty all the baskets in one day. Sometimes it spills over into two, but when I’m done on Saturday or Sunday, I can say to myself, “Laundry is done for the week.” Does it always work? No. Sometimes a mid-week washing becomes necessary. For example, baseball uniforms (those frustrating white pants) have to be washed after every game. Sometimes a load gets thrown in on Wednesday or Thursday. Oh, well. I guess I never finish that chore either.

The most important, and definitely not complete, area of my life is my relationship with God. I have to continue working hard to improve and strengthen my prayer life, my focus, and my dedication. I have to study, worship, and fellowship, but I still don’t think I’ll ever finish. At least not while I’m on earth.

I’ve seen shirts and bumper stickers that proclaim, “Be patient with me. God isn’t finished with me yet.” If He’s willing to continue working to improve me, I should be willing as well. Life is a race, and when I finally do get done, I know He’ll meet me at the finish line.

What do you wish you could finish?

Leave a Reply

