Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


My Timing is Sometimes Off

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on June 7, 2012

I’ve been planning to blog about my dad the week before Father’s Day, but this morning something happened to make me realize my timing isn’t always right.

My dad was a reader, a lifelong learner, and passionate about his pursuits. Whether he was working on an invention, scuba diving, or hunting deer, he diligently studied and experimented, continually improving himself in the endeavor. Many of my memories of him resemble the picture above, quiet and solitary with a book in his hands in the living room, while the rest of the family gathered around Grandmother’s kitchen at the farm.

This morning as I left for work, my 8-year-old son sat in the dining room eating his Cheerios, one elbow propped on the table as he pored over a book about planets. I kissed him goodbye, listened to him explain a fact about Mars, returned to the kitchen, and glanced back at him to say, “Have a good day.” The sight of him, looking so much like my dad, caused my words to snag in my throat. A “Daddy moment” hit me, one of those occasions when my emotions swell and tears crowd my eyes. I left quickly, trying to compose myself during my drive.

As I reflected on what had happened, I realized I didn’t need to wait until Father’s Day to say, “I love you, Daddy. I miss you every day.”

Leave a Reply

