Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


What Should You Declutter?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on June 19, 2012

Today is my first official day of summer break. Usually, I have a list of summer projects, many of which never get completed as the eight weeks fly by. This year, I didn’t make a list of projects because I want to focus on my writing rather than worry about decluttering my house.

Wouldn’t you know it, when I opened my inbox this morning, today’s writing challenge is about decluttering. Many aspects of writing could be major summer projects. Here are a few where I need to concentrate:

  • Space – I need an organized space where I can write this summer. The problem is I’ll only be home for about three weeks between now and when I have to return to school. I guess my “space” will be wherever inspiration hits me, whether I’m in a hotel room, at the home of a family member, at the lake, or at mission camp with the youth group. (That last one may be nearly impossible. The teens keep us busy. And exhausted.)
  • Time – Spending time writing while ignoring my kids, the beach, email, and social media can be a struggle. Even research can lead me astray. Click on one interesting (but irrelevant) link, and I’m off on an adventure in cyberspace. A daily schedule will ensure my writing doesn’t take a back seat to all the other exciting summer possibilities.
  • Mind – When I do force “butt in the chair” time and have a specific word count as a goal, sometimes my mind won’t cooperate. Everything distracts me, including piles of laundry, a sympathy card I need to send, my son playing in the yard, a newly discovered writing website, having lunch with a friend, or painting my toenails at ten in the morning just because I can (teacher’s dream). Reining in my thoughts to focus on my writing is a definite priority.
  • My words – Most importantly, my writing needs to be decluttered. I love to edit. Sometimes I do a good job of it. Sometimes not. I can always improve. All of my writing requires attention and this is undeniably my #1 summer project.

What do you need to declutter in your life?

One Response to 'What Should You Declutter?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'What Should You Declutter?'.


  1. […] Linden Barrick‘s Hello God, Welcome to My Classroom, also has a blog that deserves two awards.  I really […]


Leave a Reply

