Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


As They Fade Away…

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on June 20, 2012
Tags: ,

I received this poem from a family member yesterday. I think it’s important to share. I love you, Nonnie, and many others who are fading away.

Alzheimer’s Prayer
“My guide and prayer for caring for Martha”

Please don’t ask me to remember,
And don’t try to make me understand.
Let me rest and know you are with me,
And kiss my cheek and hold my hand.

I am confused beyond your concept,
Also, I am sad and sick and lost.
All I know is that I really need you,
And to be with me at all costs.

Please don’t lose patience with me,
And don’t scold or curse or cry.
I can’t help the way I am acting,
And can’t be any different though I try.

Please just remember that I need you,
And that the best of me is gone.
Please don’t fail to stand beside me,
And Love me ’til my life is done.

~C. F. Davan, Jr.

4 Responses to 'As They Fade Away…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'As They Fade Away…'.


  1. Thank you for sharing That’s is such a beautiful poem, My dad has alzheimers and it is so easy to forget, Ill have to try and remeber your prayer. Thank you. Love & light Andy x


    • You are welcome. I’m just passing it on from others who have found comfort in it. Bless you and your father. Thanks for reading and commenting.
      Linden


  2. I lived my my grandma, who suffers from dementia and Alzheimers, for almost two years. I have been posting stories I have written about my personal experiences on my blog if you care to check it out. They begin the the title “Living With Grandma.”

    http://caseykurlander.wordpress.com/

    Thanks, Casey


    • Thanks so much, Casey, for reading and commenting. I look forward to reading your blog! Bless you!


Leave a Reply

