Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Those Who Inspire

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on June 25, 2012
Tags: , , ,

My blog exists in its toddler stage. It’s been alive for a few months, but I still believe I’m taking baby steps each time I post. Last week, I hit a major milestone, an actual leap instead of a step.

I received my first mention on another blog.

An extremely talented writer, Holly Michael, had an opportunity to promote herself on her award-winning blog, Writing Straight (it’s fantastic…check it out) but instead graciously chose to introduce other blogs. And she named mine! I can’t possibly thank her enough.

It was definitely a momentous occasion. Not only did Holly plaster an all-day smile on my face, she also inspired me to share my gratitude towards other people and blogs. Some inform and teach. Others motivate and embolden. All have touched my life in a beautiful way.

1) Fay Lamb
Fay is the moderator of the ACFW (American Christian Fiction Writers) critique group. She keeps all writers on the right track, shares information efficiently, and offers advice and encouragement to the newbies (like me!) in the bunch.

2) Edie Melson – The Write Conversation
Edie taught the first ACFW online course I participated in and taught me valuable information about online marketing and social networking. One of my goals for this summer is to revisit the course and continue to improve my blog and social networking.

3) Dustin Steller and The Steller Times
Dustin is the most creative person I know personally. The internet makes it easy for people to say they “know” fabulous people, but I’m lucky enough to have Dustin as a cousin. His unique artistic ability and his awesome technological intelligence make him an online force.  Designer, director, photographer…he does it all. And he does it well.

4) Maurilio Amorim
This blog offers leadership advice applicable at home, the office, school, church, or anywhere else you want to make a difference. I even enjoy the advice on men’s fashion.

5) Seth Godin
Seth’s blog was the first in my RSS feed (once I learned what that meant!) He’s one of a kind. Anyone who follows his blog or reads his books knows that. If you’ve never read his work, you need to give it a try.

6) Jeff Goins
Jeff’s challenge (15 Habits of Great Writers) and his book (You Are a Writer) are like having a personal trainer for my writing life. Nothing else has pushed me harder or farther.

7) Rachelle Gardner
If you want straightforward information about publishing, editing, and/or writing, this is the place to go. As a literary agent, she knows and shares valuable information, and she even sprinkles in peeks into her family life. Very real.

8) Marji Laine – Faith-Driven Fiction
Marji offers a beautifully written mix of writing advice and spiritual inspiration. I visit her blog often, but especially when I need to feel encouraged.

9) Sharon Hoover – Journal of Missional Living
Sharon provides moving stories from her life of service and useful advice for student ministry. I search her stories frequently when I’m looking for ideas for the youth group at my church.

10) Janet Sketchley –  God With Us: Finding Joy
Janet writes enlightening book reviews and provides candid guidance on Christian living. When I need a new read, I often check her blog for good recommendations.

11) Sybil Bates McCormack – Christian Romance/Pulsating Suspense
Sybil uplifts me with tales of balancing motherhood with writing. It’s wonderful to know I’m not alone when I’m struggling to keep up with it all.

12) Joan Deneve
I don’t believe Joan has a blog or a website to share, but she has become an vital part of my writing. Much of my work has passed through her hands. She critiques honestly but kindly, and she cheers me on when critiques from others aren’t so kind. Joan is working on her first novel, which I know will someday be in print.  She has a beautiful heart for God. One day I hope to meet her in person.

Who inspires you? 

2 Responses to 'Those Who Inspire'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Those Who Inspire'.

  1. Marji Laine said,

    Thanks so much for mentioning my blog, Linden! I’m flattered and so pleased that you enjoy visiting!


    • You are welcome! I don’t have that many followers yet, but maybe one or two who weren’t already familiar with yours will check you out! Thanks again for all you write!


Leave a Reply

