Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Do You Doubt His Presence?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on July 24, 2012
Tags: , , , , , ,

While on vacation a couple weeks ago, rain fell one night followed by an overcast and gloomy day. It was our last day at the lake, so we ignored the lack of sunshine and headed out to the water. It was slightly chilly, not a warm and comforting day in the sunshine.

Life can feel like that sometimes, blanketed in dreariness, cold and unwelcoming. A burdensome drizzle falls, causing me to seek shelter or pull the covers over my head because I fail to see God’s hand at work.

That evening at the lake, Rudolph emerged. The cloudy day hadn’t kept the sun’s rays from reaching me. No, I hadn’t used sunscreen. Even though my skin rarely burns, I usually apply sunscreen to my face, but I failed to because of the weather. I couldn’t feel the heat, so I doubted its presence.

Do you ever have days when you doubt God’s presence? I frequently feel like I face life’s monsters on my own, struggling to accept He’s there. I feel abandoned and alone. Haven’t we all felt that way at some point?

But like the sun’s rays reaching through the clouds, God is always there, touching my life and leaving some sign. It may not be as noticeable as a bright red nose, but His love and influence eventually become apparent in all situations. I simply have to open my heart to see.

When have you doubted His presence? How did He reveal His handiwork to you?

Leave a Reply

