Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Are You Trapped Within Your Natural Habitat?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on August 6, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What is your natural habitat? How do you define your comfort zone? Existing within boundaries of familiarity can certainly create peace and contentment in life.

But can you become too comfortable? Be too content? Our daily routines become similar to a worn pair of jeans. They fit so well, we want to wear them every day. Sometimes, though, the jeans aren’t hanging in the closet and we have to choose something different.

Does stepping outside familiar boundaries cause you discomfort? Do you cringe from stress or do you view it as an adventure?

Today, I visited the St. Louis Zoo with my mom and my kids. As we braved the brutal heat and admired the animals, I couldn’t help but consider them trapped within their fences, glass walls, or screens.

The zoo has created beautiful environments for the animals, each closely resembling their natural habitats. But what if they broke out? Would they be scared and confused? Or would they run, fly, or jump with excitement?

I have to admit sometimes breaking free of my natural habitat is scary. I like having a plan and knowing what to expect. When I have to step (not run, fly, or jump…more likely tiptoe, creep, or even crawl) outside my comfort zone, my heart pumps erratically and my breath comes out in shallow gasps.

I realize after the fact this type of intimidating situation is a good thing. Logically, I acknowledge my need to embrace change as adventures and/or opportunities because I know I miss out on a lot when I don’t.

Are you also trapped inside your comfortable life? Do you need to break free and embrace opportunities that force you outside your boundaries? Together, let’s be brave and accept the next situation that would normally make us cringe in trepidation.

Do you like being in your comfort zone? Or do you thrive on change and the unknown? Share in a comment.

 

This baby in the primate house was the highlight of my day!

P.S. Just a short public service announcement…the St. Louis Zoo is a wonderful place. Entrance into the zoo is free, and if you’re patient enough to wait for a spot to open or willing to walk a bit, you can park along one of the roadways nearby instead of the more costly parking lots. Picnic areas surround the zoo, so you can pack a lunch and enjoy an inexpensive or even free day with the whole family. The gorgeous landscaping must take continuous care. The animals are whimsical and majestic. The staff and volunteers are helpful, friendly, and informative. The zoo is one of our favorite spots when we visit St. Louis. If you ever find yourself in the area, it’s definitely worth the time.

 

 

9 Responses to 'Are You Trapped Within Your Natural Habitat?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Are You Trapped Within Your Natural Habitat?'.

  1. Ralph said,

    Hi Linden. It IS a very difficult time when suddenly faced with ” a no going back ” change, and not knowing where the Path of Life takes you next. It arouses all sorts of unexpected emotions. I like change but I am also happy with stability. I expect many of us will experience unexpected things to happen, with so much change and turmoil before Christ returns. God bless you Linden, Ralph 🙂


    • Thanks, Ralph, for reading and commenting. You have a great outlook! Bless you, too!

      • Ralph said,

        How did you know…..and it’s Microsoft 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. Lee Anne Bray said,

    I want you to get back to your natural habitat because I miss you!

  3. Anna Labno said,

    That small baby is a gibbon. He should be with his mom and dad since gibbons live in pairs. They live in monogamy, in pairs, in a wildlife for life. And they stay together until the partner dies.
    They are very acrobatic and fun to watch.

    I wanted to do study on them in their natural habitat many years ago, but I didn’t have the means to do so.
    They are so CUTE!


    • Thanks, Anna, for the information. I’m not sure if there was a daddy around. I was so enthralled with the baby, I didn’t notice much else. He was definitely a cutie! Blessings!

  4. erinambrose said,

    Your post was quite thought provoking for me. I am one who loves adventure and change…as long as it’s positive! When faced with a “negative” change, I am a little more hesitant. But I am learning that in all things God can create some wonderful changes in my heart. Thanks for getting my brain working today!


    • You’re welcome and thanks so much for reading and commenting. Love the reference to changes in your heart. That’s where I need the most change, and it’s out of my control! Blessings!


Leave a Reply

