Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Change is Good…Right?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on August 31, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Do you like change? Some people require it. Their life isn’t complete without shifts and obstacles. Others prefer a routine that remains steady and sure with few surprises to create bumps in the road.

There are numerous changes in my life right now. I’m trying to embrace each one because they’re all good.

Well, at least I’m trying to convince myself they are good, but some changes are difficult to swallow without a little sugar added.

School starts on Tuesday. Every class has its own personality, its own reputation. I try to ignore most of what I hear because in the past, more often than not, what I hear doesn’t equate to the reality in my classroom. Kids mature, and my relationship with them is never exactly the same as the relationship they shared with previous teachers.

Autumn started driving this week. Yes, she’s been driving for quite a while, but this week she took off alone. My stomach knots each time she’s behind the wheel until she sends me a text saying she’s arrived at her destination safely.

My 8th grade team has one less member this year. Our only male teacher was moved to the high school, and the change will dramatically alter our team dynamic. He kept the rest of us smiling and prevented the female emotional response from overwhelming situations too often.

Mathews Baptist finally found a new pastor after more than 1-1/2 years with an interim. Tag Kilgore has challenged, inspired, taught, and even entertained our congregation for months, and he will be truly missed. We excitedly welcome a new pastor and his family to our church family, and we anticipate a powerful future with them.

Magic, our cat of 13 years, died two weeks ago. If I walk through the house in the middle of the night, I still see her lurking in the shadows. When I enter the laundry room, I instinctively look in the corner to see if her water bowl needs to be filled.

Autumn has a new job at Chick-fil-a. I’m very proud of her, but I miss her when she’s not around. Usually everywhere she goes, I’m there too. Youth group, camp, shopping, wherever. She’s my sidekick, and now there’s a void when she’s gone.

Two of my five positions at church end this weekend. Roles I’ve held for three years will cease without any adjustment period. The abruptness almost seems harsh.

Change is good? I realize some of my “changes” above don’t seem so, but I have to seek the goodness in each one. Autumn is growing up, whether I like it or not. Magic had been sick. Tag’s desire isn’t to be our permanent pastor. The high school students will thrive under the instruction of my colleague who has been moved. I will have more time at church to devote to the youth group. Yes, good can be found in each change if I look carefully enough.

Change is good. When life doesn’t change, I get too comfortable and start to slip into bad habits. Change challenges me, creates opportunities to stretch my faith, and keeps me alert. I’m ready. Bring it on!

What changes are you facing right now? Are they churning up excitement or fear in your heart? Please share in a comment.

4 Responses to 'Change is Good…Right?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Change is Good…Right?'.

  1. Paula said,

    Being a pastor’s wife I’ve always known that change is inevitable. When we’ve had to move on to another ministry assignment, I’ve always told my daughter to see it as an adventure. Wherever God has led, He’s always made it an adventure. I guess your feeling about change depends on your attitude – choose to be positive and changes will appear much differently than choosing to grump about it.


    • Amen, Paula. Attitude is everything. I just need to remind myself (or have great people do it for me!) of it every so often. Thanks so much for your willingness to move and serve for God! Blessings to you and your family.
      Linden


  2. Linden, thank you for an excellent post. Life, without change, becomes stagnant. Some change is harder to take and is sad-Magic. Other change sweeps the room clean and opens new spaces over time.

    Change in all contexts is an opportunity to start over again.

    Take care,

    Ivon


    • Thanks for reading and commenting! I have some additional perspective on change now that I plan to share in my next post. Hope you read and enjoy it too! Blessings!


Leave a Reply

