Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Do You Embrace Your Mistakes?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on October 1, 2012
Tags: , , , , , ,

Ugh! Not again! Oops, I really messed up this time! What was I thinking? How stupid can I be?

How often do those words run through your mind when you make a mistake? They swarm around in mine a LOT! It doesn’t matter how old I get. Those pesky mistakes still crop up frequently, just as they did in my younger years. It seems I’ll never outgrow them, so I simply have to embrace my mistakes and learn as I go.

Here are a few things I’ve learned about mistakes:

1) Everyone, and I mean everyone, makes them. No one is perfect, and we all fall short at times.

2) What I learn from my mistakes must guide my future decisions and choices.

3) I can’t let guilt from my mistakes smother my joy in life.

4) If I don’t learn from my mistakes, they can become habits. Most likely bad habits.

5) Sometimes I don’t have the strength of character to make the right decisions on my own. I need help. Choosing the right friends can help me avoid mistakes. And of course, the strength of God’s Spirit makes it possible.

6) I conquer my tendency to make mistakes when I give up what seems fun or exciting to do what is right.

7) There is a difference between an accident and a mistake. If an accident happens more than once, it’s still an accident. But if you make the same mistake more than once, it has become a choice.


Have you made mistakes that still haunt you? Have you overcome the guilt of mistakes in your life? Please share in a comment.

4 Responses to 'Do You Embrace Your Mistakes?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Do You Embrace Your Mistakes?'.


  1. I really like your last line: “If you make the same mistake more than once, it has become a choice.” That is a reality check for me. Thanks for that.


    • That’s one of those little bits of wisdom I’ve heard but can’t remember who said it. Maybe a preacher, maybe a parent or grandparent. Not positive, but I agree it’s important to remember…I need that reality check often!

  2. optimisticgladness said,

    I like how you defined the difference between a mistake and an accident. Never really thought of it that way. Thank you.


    • Over this past weekend, I encountered both accidents and mistakes, and they really aren’t the same thing at all. When you think about accidentally doing something – elbowing someone, having a fender bender, whatever – it’s not necessarily worse if you do it again someday. Just another accident.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!
      Blessings


Leave a Reply

