Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


How Do You Define Success?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on October 9, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I cannot claim the following thoughts as my own. These words were taken directly from the notes I took on Sunday during the message by Pastor Tag Kilgore. The more they weave their way through my mind, the more I realize this recipe for spiritual success truly relates to success in all aspects of life.

Great spiritual success comes from:

1) Make every effort to build your personal character (character is like a tree; reputation is the shadow).

  • Honesty – other people trusting that your words and actions are true
  • Loyalty – standing up for someone no matter what others think of them
  • Righteousness – Ephesians 6:1 gives no explanation of why; simply do what is right
  • Love, which can’t be separated from commitment – even if the emotion becomes drained, the commitment remains

2) Make every effort to be a team player.

3) Have a great attitude – you can choose to be irritable, but it’s pure selfishness.

Thanks, Tag. I especially loved how you explained that insignificant actions can lead to grand results. I sometimes forget the trivial, routine activities that fill my days can add up to something impressive. I needed that reminder, and I’m grateful God gave you the words to share.

6 Responses to 'How Do You Define Success?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'How Do You Define Success?'.

  1. optimisticgladness said,

    Very good. Tell your pastor great job!


    • Thanks! He does do a fabulous job. I’m sad right now because he’s our interim pastor and will be leaving us very soon, but I have been blessed beyond belief while he’s been leading our congregation. Blessings!


  2. Your giving of the One lovely blog is beautiful. I believe it really does stand out for those blogs that have beauty within them. perhaps one day someone will notice I share things that might make others stronger on my blog. Thank you for being you’Blessings~Jenn


    • Thanks so much for your nice comment! I’m excited to be following your blog now. Don’t get discouraged…I’ve been blogging for quite a while and just now hit 100 followers. I just keep plugging away at it, but I don’t hold myself to a strict schedule. I write when I have words I need to share. Maybe that makes the growth slower, but I don’t want to post things just because it’s a certain day of the week. 🙂

      • mamadoveonabox said,

        You are so kind and just the words needed to hear.
        Blessings, Jennifer

      • Linden Barrick said,

        🙂


Leave a Reply

