Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


I Love Surprises

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on October 31, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Have you ever known someone for a while and think you have them figured out? Then one day they completely surprise you with a hidden talent or trait? I LOVE it when that happens.

A quiet teen who spends his free time hunting and fishing but reveals a love and talent for cooking.

A surly-looking, mostly-silent student with an “I don’t care” attitude who scores 100 on the first test.

An aggressive, violent teen who dissolves in tears when I tell him I care about him and his future.

A normally negative acquaintance who smiles and looks on the bright side for a change.

An independent, strong individual who humbles herself and asks for help.

I also enjoy situations that astonish me.

A mandatory meeting I anticipate will be long and boring but ends up inspiring and informational.

A volunteer opportunity that ends up blessing me more than those I’m serving.

A card of thanks and encouragement left for me from an anonymous church member.

A top expert in my field showing an interest in something I’m doing.

And especially, a hurricane that spares my family the worst of her fury.

Thank you, God, for the amazement you add to my life through people and situations. May I always view them with wonder and gratitude.

5 Responses to 'I Love Surprises'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'I Love Surprises'.

  1. paulamowery said,

    Amen, Sister! Those little blessings just keep me going. God seems to know exactly when we need one.


    • 🙂 You’re right, Paula. It’s all in His timing. Thanks for reading and commenting!


    • Thanks for the blog follow, Paula!

  2. optimisticgladness said,

    I am reminded of the song, “Always look on the brighter side of life.” Good post. Thank you.


    • Great song! Thanks for making the comparison. And thanks for reading and commenting! Blessings! 🙂


Leave a Reply

