Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Negativity Will Get You Nowhere.

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on November 7, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As I posted yesterday, I truly believe that God is in control and He can use anyone to further His kingdom.

I have stayed out of political conversations for the most part over the last year. Students frequently ask who I’m voting for, but I’ve learned it’s not a smart move to reveal my choice. That being said, I feel the need this morning to share my feelings about one aspect of the election.

I’ve been stunned and saddened by the negativity during the campaign. Not that negativity is anything new in politics. I remember in 1972 being on the playground at elementary school and hearing a boy yell, “Nixon, Nixon is our man. Throw McGovern in the trash can.” Such eloquence certainly trickled down from an adult to this vocal second grader, and he felt the need to share with the rest of us. I don’t remember his name, but I can still see the ruthless triumph in his eyes and the wicked smile on his face.

With that in mind, I felt the need to discuss the election results with Colton this morning. Not only so he would be up-to-date with what’s going on, but so he would be prepared for any of his third-grade peers who felt the need to be mouthy in support of their (ummm…their parents’) own camp or with antagonism toward their opposition.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to send kids off to school without having to prepare them for adversity?

Nothing has changed since my playground days. Now my peers are a little older than second grade, but many still spew hate to try to get their point across. Instead of on the swing set, it’s now carried out on Facebook, Twitter, and any other avenue at their disposal.

The interesting thing to me is how many Christians are involved in this ugliness. Have we forgotten WWJD? What would Jesus do in this situation? I’m positive he would not be spouting revenge and hate.

The United States has fewer Christians now than ever before. If someone who claims to be Christian truly wants more people to vote Christian values, wouldn’t it make sense to leave the negativity to the politicians and focus on spreading Christian love? Serving others and growing His kingdom seems to me to be the logical strategy for creating change in our world.

The last time the U.S. had a surge in church attendance was after the attacks on September 11th.  Sometimes you have to hit rock bottom before you turn to God and cry out for help.

I certainly don’t know the future or what God has planned, but a lot of people think our country is going to be destroyed in the next four years.

I’m not sure, but maybe it’s just going to hit rock bottom.

5 Responses to 'Negativity Will Get You Nowhere.'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Negativity Will Get You Nowhere.'.

  1. paulamowery said,

    Not matter what, our responsibility as Christians is to stand as Joshua saying: “Choose you this day whom you will serve, but as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.” Then we live that way trusting God for everything.


    • Amen, Paula! And thanks…I always like when my thoughts can be related to the Bible. Shows I just might be on the right track at that moment! 🙂


  2. I’m a Canadian, so I’ve tuned out most of the election talk because I’m not allowed to vote. But there’s so much pain and futility in North American culture these days. I pray rock bottom isn’t that much farther away, and for softened hearts to turn back to God when we get there. In the mean time, may those who know Him spread His light and love.


    • Well said, Janet! You are so right about this country’s culture. Keep spreading the light!! 🙂


      • The struggle sure doesn’t stop at the border! We need God to draw our countries back to the faith that founded them.


Leave a Reply

