Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


If the World Gives Up on You…

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on November 20, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The other morning I passed a car on the side of the road. A white slip of fabric fluttered out the window surrendering its ability to move. As I drove by, I noticed the dents, rust, and other bruises mottling the battered body. No wonder it had given up.

Then something else caught my attention. This pile of abandoned metal wore 30-day tags. My initial reaction was Why would someone buy that piece of junk? Did they really think it would run?

As I drove by shaking my head in disbelief, my thoughts suddenly did a 180-degree turn, and I started considering the hope that must have been involved in the purchase.  Someone hoped that car would provide them with the transportation he or she needed. Even though it looked like it was near death, the purchaser believed.

Likewise, even when I feel battered and useless, God has hope that He can use me. That I can still fulfill the purpose He has for my life. He would still purchase me, no matter how I looked. In fact, He did and the cost was His Son. Even if I feel like waving my flag in surrender, He believes I can keep going and chooses me for the job He requires of me.

Do you ever feel abandoned on the side of the road if you can’t provide what other people expect or need? Sometimes it’s impossible to accomplish everything, and the rejection or dismissal hurts when it’s not done successfully. But that’s what happens when we focus on the world instead of on God. If we concentrate on doing God’s will, the world’s needs will also be met.

Because God doesn’t care if the world has left me stranded at the curb. It doesn’t matter how dented and rusted I look to the world; He still has hope for my future.

6 Responses to 'If the World Gives Up on You…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'If the World Gives Up on You…'.

  1. somepcguy said,

    That is a beautiful allegory.


    • Thanks so much…I am always amazed when God uses something so commonplace to remind me of His love.

  2. paulamowery said,

    Sometimes I do feel wrecked and beat up, but thanks be to God, He still uses me. I’m humbled and amazed.
    Great post!


    • Love the use of your word “humble” because that is exactly what I feel when I realize he’s rescued me from the side of the road!
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. Fritzi said,

    I enjoyed reading your post. Our church bought a run down zoo that was in a very, very bad shape but our Heavenly Father is in the business of restoration…not only with this old zoo but with people’s lives.


    • What an awesome project! And yes, He certainly is the restoration expert! Thanks for reading and commenting. Blessings!


Leave a Reply

