Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


‘Tis the Season

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on December 5, 2012
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

DSC05206

Cough. Hack. Sniff. A week later, I’m still fighting a wicked cold. I’m slogging my way through my days, trying not to contaminate everyone in my vicinity. I haven’t taken the time to rest and recuperate. ‘Tis the season to be busy, right?

It’s been more than a week since I wrote a blog post. My brain isn’t formulating words worth sharing, and I’m not motivated to do anything more than what is necessary. This short post will have to do for now.

Physically, I feel drained. But I haven’t done what is required to recover quickly. I’m still at work, I haven’t visited the doctor’s office, I am still taking care of my responsibilities, and I seem to expect healing to occur without any effort on my part except to take medicine to mask my symptoms.

It kind of reminds me of times when I’m spiritually drained. Yep, I’m a pro at masking those symptoms too. I continue to work, take care of responsibilities, even go to church, but I don’t do what is necessary for healing. I don’t immerse myself in His Word. I avoid asking for encouragement and support from fellow believers. Basically, I pretend all is well.

And just like my cold which could easily become bronchitis, pneumonia, or something else more serious while I refuse to care for myself, my spiritual self could fall even further into despair if I don’t respond to my needs.

During this blessed season that can turn into a chaotic swirl of activity, please take care of yourself – physically, emotionally, and spiritually. And if you have any great advice for those of us who aren’t so adept in this area, please share in a comment!

One Response to '‘Tis the Season'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '‘Tis the Season'.

  1. Lee Anne Bray said,

    A few more days sister and then I will be on your case about visiting the doctor!


Leave a Reply

