Hello, God. Welcome to My Classroom


Need Restoration?

Posted in A Class Act by Linden Barrick on February 25, 2013
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The Piankatank Bridge is under construction. I have to cross the bridge every day on my way to and from work, so I was worried at the beginning of the school year when it was announced there would be one-way traffic over it for a very, very long time.  If I consider the situation logically, I realize I’m never sitting there for more than 3 or 4 minutes. In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal.

Fall-Protection-Require-Danger-Sign-S-4074

It’s a slight inconvenience, but I’ve found I’m in awe at the process. The construction workers aren’t simply repairing the roadway; they have completely eliminated one lane and are rebuilding it from scratch. It’s a little unnerving when I see one side of the bridge completely demolished while I drive across the other. How do they maintain the stability of one side while obliterating the other? If I’m in my car, my perspective doesn’t provide me with much of a view, but when I drive Mark’s truck, I sit high enough to see straight down to the river. Scary!

As I consider the bridge, I think about God’s restoration of His believers. Many people hit rock bottom, become completely destroyed, before they reach out to Him for help. He keeps part of us stable enough to cry out for His help while other parts must be rebuilt from scratch. He doesn’t just patch up our flaws; He completes a total overhaul, starting with our hearts.

He can renew anyone, no matter how deep the wounds. So many of my students need restoration. A boy searching for guidance but without a father figure. A girl who believed the words “I love you” and wants to feel clean again.  A victim who wants to die rather than face the bully who demonizes his days. All can be renewed with God’s love even when the world feels cold and lonely.

Like the bridge, it might take total demolition before restoration can begin, but God’s power makes it possible.

2 Responses to 'Need Restoration?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Need Restoration?'.

  1. Paula Mowery said,

    This post in spot-on! I can sense from your words about your students that you are like me – I wish I had more freedom to just give them Jesus but my hands are tied. But, we continue to live it out so they might see the restoration they could have. Keep living Him out – you never know what impact you truly have on them.


    • Thanks for the encouragement, Paula! There are so many students I’d like to round up on Sunday morning or Wednesday night for a good dose of Jesus, but I just keep praying they become aware of His presence and power sometime in life. L


Leave a Reply

